Discover the beautiful state of Rheinland-Pfalz!
Stunning abundance of nature, cultural highlights & enjoyment of life
Rheinland-Pfalz is not only a great place to live in but also offers countless breathtaking travel destinations nearby you should consider exploring with the family. The region is well-known for its forests, its wine-growing regions, its historic cities, its magnificent castles, and all around beautiful countryside.
No matter if culture or nature travel, sightseeing in one of the many fascinating cities, marveling at UNESCO sites, enjoying the calming picturesque landscape, visiting the infamous Wurstmarkt, lovely Christmas markets, or extraordinary parades during the crazy carnival season. Rheinland-Pfalz is a highly attractive and popular travel destination in the heart of Europe at any time of the year!
Are you rather the active type when it comes to planning your leisure time?
No problem! Here, you will find plenty of insider tips where you can pursue your favorite leisure time activities like cycling, hiking, swimming or ice-skating.
Have fun checking out your options!
A girl’s best friend
Diamonds stand for immeasurable wealth, imperishable beauty, and material harshness - Marilyn Monroe sang of their appeal in her song "Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend.“ More than one hundred years ago the Ohmbachtal near Kusel in the Pfalz was home to a growing diamond-cutting industry. Today, a small museum preserves this history in a lively and impressive way. The museum shows, with the help of devices and demonstrations, how to work with the precious raw material.
Art at the post?
The cultural center “Old Post Office” (“Alte Post”) is characterized by impressive architecture—after an extensive restoration, this building originally built in 1893 shines in a new splendor.
The forum hosts a permanent exhibition with works of the romantic painter Heinrich Bürkel and, with the Hugo-Ball-Kabinett, exhibits a permanent exhibition on the founder of the art style Dada. Check the website for temporary exhibits.
In the old town hall the exhibition “Wald, Schloss, Schuh – die Geschichte der Siebenhügelstadt” reflects on the city Pirmasens’ changing shoe history. You can marvel at about 30 historic shoes. A shoemaker’s workplace shows the working conditions of a typical “Bermesenser Schlabbefigger” (shoemaker from Pirmasens). The children’s carousel from the company Salamander, decorated with Lurchi and friends, is naturally not missing. The advertising movie released by the company Rheinberger in the 60's is fun to watch because it gives a very good impression of the past time.
Baroque architecture for the nobility
Between 1735 and 1775 the former duke residence in Zweibrücken was in its period of glory under Duke Christian IV. Once, famous artists shook hands with the court. Nowadays the palatine Higher Regional Court and the Attorney General’s office Zweibrücken are situated in the building. As it is not far from the heart of the shopping district, a small detour to the castle and its pretty gardens is definitely worth your time.
Phone (0 63 32) 80 50
Photo: Harald Kröher
Bernkastel-Kues is considered to be one of the favorite excursions on the Mosel Valley. Every year, visitors from all over the world come to the ‘International Town of Wine’ to relax and rewind. Situated on both sides of the Mosel, Bernkastel is surrounded by its famous slate covered vineyards, known worldwide to produce some of the best wines. Overlooking Bernkastel are the ruins of Landshut Castle. The narrow alleyways invite one to stroll through its rich history, closely associated with pleasure and viticulture for more than 2000 years. Stroll through the beautiful square with its proud half-timbered buildings which cannot be found elsewhere on the Mosel.
Windsborn Crater Lake is the only real crater lake north of the Alps. A quiet, circular lake surrounded by forest and overshadowed by the bizarre slag rings of Mosenberg, it has been dominate for 24000 years. Take time to linger around one of the footbridges and take in the beauty of the area. Situated next to Windsborn is the swampy inaccessible Hinkelsmaar. A massive lava explosion formed Mosenberg massif into the Kyll Valley. Horngraben (trenches) is particularly wild and rugged, covered with countless craggy basalt boulders.
The town of Binsfeld borders at south and south-east directly on Spangdahlem Air Base. Binsfeld was first mentioned in the year of 844, thus, looks back on 1167 years of history. Binsfeld was at that time owned by the prince elector of Trier and, until the end of the 17th century, an important postal station between Brussels and Vienna. Between 1900 and 1965 the town was connected to the German railway system and connected Binsfeld with the town of Philippsheim. Proving this is the restored narrow gage engine, now serving as a monument of that time. It is displayed close to the Binsfeld traffic circle.
Bitburg: The beer town in the Eifel
Bitburg’s beginnings were very humble. Nearly two thousand years ago, a Heerstrasse (a Roman Military Road that went from Lyon, France, then to Metz, Trier on to Köln) came into being. On their way from Trier to Köln the Roman Army was able to march approximately thirty kilometres in a day. As a result, Bitburg served as their first resting station and thus, became a small Roman fortress. As the Roman Empire expanded, the fortress flourished into a centre of handcrafts and trade.
Throughout its history, Bitburg has often been a casualty of war and suffered horrendously with the most horrible event occurring on Christmas Eve in 1944. Artillery shelling and bombing raids from the Allies destroyed nearly 90% of the town. It was concluded in German military reports that Bitburg was a "tote Stadt", a dead city. Despite all of this, the citizens of Bitburg have ceaselessly proven their fortitude and gallantry and have continually managed to re-establish and restore their city. These reasons account for the development of the modern Bitburg.
"Haus Beda" is located at the "Beda" parking lot between the County Community Bank and the "Volksbank". It was founded in 1976 by Dr. Hanns Simon, who was a senior partner of the Bitburg Brewery. Haus Beda is Bitburg`s beautiful Cultural Center with a picture gallery of Fritz von Wille, a very famous German painter. Worthwhile visiting is the banqueting hall, where concerts and other exclusive events take place. Also part of the "Beda Foundation" is a well assorted library with over 50.000 pieces of literature.
Bitburg has always had a military presence all through its history. After WW II, the French and the Luxembourg had military control of the area. In 1955, Luxembourg withdrew. After the arrival of the 53rd Fighter-Bomber Squadron and the 36th Fighter-Bomber Wing from Fürstenfeldbruck AB near Munich, Bitburg became an official American military installation in September 1952. There was a time where the sum of NATO forces and their family members outnumbered the local populace. In 1985, the French closed down their garrison and handed their detachment to the Americans providing them with very much needed space. With the fall of the Berlin Wall and Base Realignment and Closure Act, Bitburg was one of the many military bases to be closed.
In September 1994, after 42 years, Bitburg Air Base closed its gates … and thus, the ending of an era. The sight of the former air base is still referred to by the locals as "Flugplatz". Bitburg is also the district seat of the Bitburg-Prüm County. It is often regarded as an ‘Eifel town with international flair’. Ever since its 1250 year anniversary in 1965, Bitburg hosts the European Folklore Festival. This festivity, which takes place every second weekend in July, has become one of the most famous Folklore festivals within Germany.
Country Art at Eschbachhof
Scenically located, the Eschbachhof in Baustert near Bitburg offers a fine selection of country art, carefully restored antique furniture, handmade flower arrangements and wreathes, Bauernmalerei (tole painting) and much more. Decorated according to the season, the house has an exhibit area of more than 250 square metres. A Christmas exhibit can be seen throughout the year in the former stables. Eschbachhof opening hours are Tuesday-Friday from 14.00-18.00 and Saturdays from 10.00-14.00. Naturally, the owner, Frau Mathes, will gladly see guests outside the normal opening hours.
Dinosaurs in the flowerbed
Open from April to October, the Rhineland-Palatinate Gartenschau (Garden Show) annually attracts thousands of visitors to the grounds of the former worsted spinning mill with its “Gärten der Vielfalt” ("Gardens of Diversity") show. The show offers attractions for the whole family with its magnificent seas of flowers and a diverse program of events and cultural offerings attractions for the whole family. Notable highlights: the largest dinosaur exhibition in Europe and an impressive Lego collection.
Dive into the past
See how the Celts lived: the Keltendorf (Celtic village) in Steinbach is not a museum in the classic sense, because here visitors actively follow in the footsteps of the people who lived on the Donnersberg Mountain over 2000 years ago. Steinbach offers numerous opportunities for people of all ages to test their creativity and skill in the Celtic village. On the weekends, in addition to expert guides leading tours, there are also changing activities such as archery or felting.
Keltendorf am Donnersberg e.V.
Phone (06352) 17 12
Folk Festival (Volksfest) of the Westpfalz
The biggest party of the Westpfalz, called the Lautrer Kerwe (fair), lasts a whole 11 days. Between 200,000 and 250,000 visitors come to the Rummelplatz in Kaiserslatuern twice a year (once in May and once in October) for this popular festival. The Kerwe kindles the summer feeling, party mood, and love of life and adventure. The last day of the fair is celebrated with a large fireworks show.
The famous Pop-Art artist James Rizzi was very passionate about inspiring people with his craft. The Rizzi gallery picks up on that and has left its mark on the scene. The glass facade of the former shoe-factory is a spectacular sight – a real “Rizzi” dazzles. On the inside, the art gallery and the fashionable restaurant-café attract many visitors. With its many choices for breakfast and its seasonal cuisine, the restaurant is worth a visit by itself.
The Carolinensaal in the city center of Pirmasens is fairly unknown. The building was built with Greek temples’ architecture as a model and was used as a consecration hall for the old cemetery between 1880 and 1959. Only recently its purpose shifted; since then concerts, readings or exhibitions have taken place there. Princess Caroline of Hessen-Darmstadt spent her childhood in the southern West Palatinate and the temple is dedicated to her.
At the Dynamikum Science Center in Pirmasens, everything is different. 160 scientific and technological exhibits cannot only be looked at but also touched, explored and tried out. The first Rhineland-Palatinate science center has specialized on the topic of movement. The two-story building offers very interesting materials that are mediumistic and artfully prepared. The Mitmachmuseum (hands-on museum) in the former shoe factory “Rheinberger” and its vast grounds are close to the center of the city. This unique museum is known to be very high up on the to-do list of many families.
In the Japanese garden kingdom
The Japanischer Garten (Japanese Garden) in Kaiserslautern is far more than a pretty garden with pink Cherry blossoms. This garden—the largest closed Japanese garden in Europe—magnetically attracts lovers of nature with its natural landscape designed according to strict aesthetic and philosophical considerations. The garden also has a waterfall, ponds and a historic tea house. For information on events and opening times, visit the website.
Kyllburg: Collegiate Church
Kyllburg Collegiate Church is the largest single hall Gothic-styled church north of the Alps. Its central nave has a wingspan of 13.5 meters, a square cloister and numerous gravestones dating from the Middle Ages. Also worth noting is Madonna High on the high altar.
Auf dem Stift 2
Opening hours daily 8 – 18.00. Guided tours by appointment only.
Distance from Spangdahlem 15 km
La vie en rose
The rose garden gives Zweibrücken the melodious moniker “Rosenstadt” (city of roses) which is its badge of honor. With good reason, because the park is Europe’s biggest rose garden. Starting in April, the dreamy seas of flowers and incomparable aromas coax garden enthusiasts and knights of the rose in this beautiful park. Apart from rose arrangements, lush rhododendron and azalea fields, blooming perennial beds and exotic trees cast a spell on visitors. The family-friendly rose garden is open all year round.
Mill construction an architectural treasure
Situated beside the Glan-Blies bike path, the village St. Julian should not be missed out on. If you stop by, you should see the local oil mill built in 1730. Nowadays, it is one of the last functional oil mills in Europe. The husking and tanning process supported by agitator equipment and the Windhaus is unique in Germany. The mill is a listed building and said to be an architectural wonder. You can visit the mill all year round even from the inside if you call (0171) 2 63 90 76 and make an appointment.
The former Benedictine monastery Hornbach impresses with its traditional architectural beauty and is intertwined with modern elements, and the spiritual presence of the past still resides within these walls. Here, the hotel Kloster Hornbach resides with its unobtrusive elegance. It promises relaxation and hospitability. Guests are pampered in four restaurants and therefore visit from all over the world.